Wearing Blue (Salt and Fresh Water)

 

“If you wanna leave come to California. Be a freak like me, too. Screw your anonymity. Loving me is all you need, to feel like I do.”  ~Lana Del Rey

4656743542_5a7198cdd7_b

 

There is a line in the sand that says,
“Answer me kindly and I will tell you the secret of the world.”
The line that defines the time spent between the drinking of wine and spending time,
Gathering decrees that shout out the very faith of a child.

Take a shot at me I probably deserve it.
While I approach the line that the sand has made.
To guide and to kill,
Lead and destroy.

There is a line in the sand that says,
“Answer me kindly and I will tell you the secret of the world.”
The line that decides whether it is okay to move forward.
It joins in on the festivities of birth and decay.

Watch as the beach divulges its secrets.
Where salt water wishes to come out and play,
But the fresh water pushes it back.
The two never touch and the two could become friends.

There is a line on a beach and it is a line that lets only a few pass.
Diving into the ocean grants you peace.
Walking away grants you a wall where you must turn around.
Dichotomy between what we want and what we need.

There is nothing wrong with either body of water.
Both offer the same desire to be a better person.
It comes down to the line and whether or not you are ready for an answer.
And in the end it all boils over and we see that the line never existed.

So what is the truth of the matter?
Do we decide to live or to die?
Are we born into the answer?
Can we maintain a presence when your heart feels like it has been shattered?

There is a line that never existed.
It was drawn inside my dreams.
It is a line that changes its tune every day.
As a child wishes to change what he wants to play.

Do I decide whether it exists?
It usually appears when I am close to someone else.
And it goes away when I have nothing to say.
For the speaking of words is not my forte.

I have no hand to hold,
But I do have a soul to hold onto.
Wearing blue is the only thing that I can do.
When most of my time is spent over analyzing a line that doesn’t even have a name.

“Goodbye the heartache, that’s the only southern part of me. I pack some boxes in the basement and move down the street, and I’ll leave the pirate ships to kids who don’t know anything. Oh, I’ll be every bit the person we both already know I’ll be.” ~Relient K

 

Leave a Reply

