I Fought the Devil

Do I divide and fall apart, ‘cuz my bright is too sly to hold back all my dark. And the ship went down in sight of land, and at the gates does Thomas ask to see my hands?

~Brand New

I Fought the Devil

sleeping_sun_by_larosedepetitprince-d97jyoj

My world stretches to the end and then it springs back again.
I feel the gambit of pain and joy as I cross paths with the devil and with God.
A battle between what is real and what is fake.
A battle that is fought with the heart, body, and mind.

Today I fought the devil and he won.
I let him have his time in the sun.

Desiring to be better than what I want to be.
Searching for radiance that can light a path with a single look.
Infiltrating the stronghold held by the devil himself.
Seeing the city on a hill because it is the day.

Today I fought the devil and he won.
I let him have his time in the sun.

Interesting to think that there is so much He let’s us do.
Instead of forcing us to worship all the way through.
But here we are defying His name.
When we are down and showing so much shame.

Today I fought an angel and he won.
I fought him for a name and to learn how o be closer to the Son.

It takes more than a desire for it to come to fruition.
Convictions that are held on to.
Lessons that are learned and practised upon.
Lessons that are remembered because of belief and not knowledge.

Today I fought the devil and kicked him in the face.
I laid my head down and stared God in the face.
I was told to pray not just before my day,
But during the storm and when the sun puts its head away.

Leave a Reply

